Open Today 10am-5pm

Montgomery Museum of Fine Art

Click to view hours
Open Today 10am-5pm
Click to view calendar


Flimp Chalk 2018

Artists of all ages took part in the annual Flimp sidewalk chalk art competition on Friday, May 4 and Saturday, May 5, 2018. Working as individuals and in groups, artists transformed the Museum’s parking lot into a gallery of chalk masterpieces.

Inspired by our spring exhibitions, Journey of the Islander: The Life and Art of Walter Inglis Anderson and Natural Wonders: The Art of Jacqueline Bishop and Douglas Bourgeois, this year’s theme was Gulf Coast Jubilee.


This year’s competition was judged by Tonya Terry of WSFA, local artist Melissa Tubbs, and Rick Dildine, the Artistic Director at Alabama Shakespeare Festival. All prizes were donated by local businesses: Chick-fil-a, Eastdale Mall, Frios Gourmet Pops, Montgomery Biscuits, Montgomery Zoo, Nancy’s Italian Ice, and W.A. Gayle Planetarium.

Elementary School

First Place
“No More Waiting”
Blount Elementary School
Sean Dickson, Morgan Dozier, Valeria Hidlago, Dylan Jenkins
Second Place
“Mystical Excitement”
Blount Elementary School
Ella An, Chloe Lim, Haley McBeal, and Reagan Slinkard
Third Place
“Fun and Free”
Blount Elementary School
Leo Jin, Mahalia Mallory, Audrina Nelson, Daniela Velazquez
“Life is good”
Blount Elementary School
Mimi Darawad, Dallas Henderson, Sidney Lowe, Coleman Russell

Middle School

First Place
“A Sailor’s Perspective”
Floyd Middle Magnet School
Kolbi Bates, Mariah Thomas, and Tyler Toth
Second Place
Saint James School
Nicolas Hakala, Julie Lee, Jiyeon Paek, Zenifa Zaman
Third Place
Montgomery Academy
Annalia Berry, Chandler Brazil, and Jonilah Megie
“Deep Sea”
Trinity Presbyterian
Anna Kate Blissitte, Katherine Lamkin, Abby Taunton, and Lily Yancey

High School

First Place
“Road Trippin”
Saint James School
Christine Choy, Erin Dickey, Camillia Richardson, Aaliya Jo Sims
Second Place
Saint James School
Peyton Christian, Abby Engles, Claudia Hubbard, and Hannah Mathis Ray
Third Place
“Fish Hair, Don’t Care”
Montgomery Catholic
Lauren Beverly, Hailey Covington, Chloe Newell, Samantha Zanglin
“Sweet Catch”
Montgomery Catholic
Daphne Hardy, Cameron Morris, and Mari Caitlin Riggles


First Place
“Excitement Among the Fish”
Laura Murray
Second Place
“Ocean Child”
Meredith Cooper, April Harris, and Stephanie Kirkland
Third Place
“Taste of the Gulf”
Heather Cap
“Excitement Among the Fish”
Laura Murray


Emcee Award
“Gulf Essence”
Booker T. Washington Magnet High School
Kaitlyn Campbell, Alexis Day, Patrice Escalera, and Emily Turner

Thank You

This event would not have been possible without the support of the chalk art sponsors listed below:

  • Mr. and Mrs. Neal Acker in honor of Pamela Swan
  • Dr. and Mrs. Winston M. Ashurst
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bowen Ballard
  • Dr. and Mrs. John Bennett
  • Dr. and Mrs. Arthur Britton
  • Mr. and Mrs. Philip H. Butler
  • Mrs. Dorothy D. Cameron
  • Kearly L. Foster, CPA
  • Mr. and Mrs. William F. Furr
  • Mr. and Mrs. Richard H. Gill
  • Mrs. Ann Hubbert
  • Mr. and Mrs. Thomas H. Keene
  • Mrs. Anne D. King
  • Mrs. H. F. Jim Levy
  • Longleaf Strategies
  • Lowder New Homes
  • Mr. and Mrs. L. Daniel Morris, Jr.
  • C.J. Morrow Carraway Baker Law, LLC
  • Mr. and Mrs. Adam Muhlendorf in memory of Pamela de la Torre
  • Ms. Alice Novak and Mr. David Carter in honor of Gunter Giddens
  • Mr. and Mrs. Tabor R. Novak, Jr.
  • Mr. and Mrs. Phillip O. Rawlings
  • Mr. and Mrs. S. Adam Schloss
  • Mr. and Mrs. Charles A. Stakely
  • Ms. Micki Beth Stiller
  • Dr. and Mrs. John Swan, II in honor of Pamela Swan
  • Mrs. Helen A. Till
  • Dr. Laurie J. Weil and Dr. Tommy Wool in honor of Mark M. Johnson, Jr.
  • Mr. and Mrs. Adolph Weil, III
  • Judge Gene Reese and Mrs. Winston Wilson Reese
  • The Tipping Point